Snowtroopers.ca - Star Wars collecting news and information in Canada.

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Looking into the forum errors


SPONSORS

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
January 18, 2018, 08:46:12 AM

Login with username, password and session length


59 Guests, 2 Users
   
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Z-6PO and D2 R2  (Read 1865 times)

Thirdfloor

  • Empire
  • Sith Lord
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 735
    • View Profile
Z-6PO and D2 R2
« on: November 09, 2010, 10:15:34 PM »

Does anyone here know why droid names change with other languages?  How does C-3PO translate into Z-6P0 and R2 D2 into D2 R2 in french??  I noticed a variance like this on another vintage card, I think it was Italian, but I forget the letters they assigned to the droids. 
Logged
"The Force Can Have A Strong Influence On The Weak Minded"

brianakarobin

  • A++ Trader
  • Global Moderator
  • Sith Lord
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3507
  • Star Wars Trivia World Champion
    • View Profile
Re: Z-6PO and D2 R2
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2010, 09:47:43 PM »

Some people (i.e. those doing the translation) just feel it will sound better if changed slightly.  IMO, whether it doesn't sound quite as good or not, just leave it the same :mad0177:

jjreason

  • <A+ Trader>
  • Administrator
  • Sith Lord
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6872
  • "So long, Princess."
    • View Profile
Re: Z-6PO and D2 R2
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2010, 02:27:35 PM »

Spitballing here but the french "seece" kinda rhymes with english "three", leading to "Zay-seece-pee-o", which is kinda close?
Logged

Goldenrod

  • Empire
  • Sith Lord
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 686
    • View Profile
Re: Z-6PO and D2 R2
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2014, 07:19:36 AM »

Ah.... translations problems... The O.T. were translated in France.

For A New Hope, C-3PO is Z-6PO, R2-D2 is D2-R2, Chewbacca is Chiktabba and the Millenium Falcon is Millenium Condor, let.s not forget that Darth Vader is Dark Vador.

For TESB and Jedi, Chewbacca is Chewbacca, R2-D2 is R2-D2 and the Millenium Falcon is now Faucon Millenium.

For the Prequels and Clone Wars, dubbed here in Québec, the name remained the same as in english. C-3PO, R2-D2, Darth are pronounced the same way. Vader stayed Vader.

All these name changes comes from Europe, for reasons unknown, they like to change names, and not just in the Star Wars Universe. Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter are full of name changes...

Rivendell is Fondcombre
Hogwart is Poudlar
Logged

Wedge1021

  • Empire
  • Sith Lord
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1599
    • View Profile
Re: Z-6PO and D2 R2
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2014, 10:32:03 AM »

Is it just me, or has there been some really weird thread resurrections lately, by brand new members with 1 post count? The posts that sound like they might apply to this site, but have little-to-nothing to do with the thread topic. And previous posts in the thread are 4+ years old.
Logged

Darth Cujo

  • Empire
  • Sith Lord
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1717
  • mmmmoooo
    • View Profile
Re: Z-6PO and D2 R2
« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2014, 02:07:08 PM »

Is it just me, or has there been some really weird thread resurrections lately, by brand new members with 1 post count? The posts that sound like they might apply to this site, but have little-to-nothing to do with the thread topic. And previous posts in the thread are 4+ years old.
I've noticed this too. And usually, in the past, seemingly random posts are pretty bad grammatically as well, making it more obvious that it's spam. But these seem to have coherent sentences, just inappropriate to the subject. Are the spam-bots getting smarter?
Logged

napseeker

  • Global Moderator
  • Sith Lord
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2780
  • Let loose the figures of clone war!
    • View Profile
Re: Z-6PO and D2 R2
« Reply #6 on: October 31, 2014, 04:04:29 PM »

Are there even any shown on screen in the movie? I can't recall seeing any. From what I can remember, most Clones had colours based on their specific divisions. They probably are there, just tucked in the back somewhere. Anybody have any screen caps?

I think this is a spambot which randomly grabbed someone else's reply from another thread and then reposted it here. That could be why the posting seems more intelligent, because it WAS written by a fellow human being, the text has been absconded from another discussion....

Spambot-moderator Tom
Logged
Bring back Star Wars and Marvel SA 3.75" at reasonable prices, Hasbro...

brianakarobin

  • A++ Trader
  • Global Moderator
  • Sith Lord
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3507
  • Star Wars Trivia World Champion
    • View Profile
Re: Z-6PO and D2 R2
« Reply #7 on: November 01, 2014, 04:26:04 PM »

I agree - the spambots are getting smarter, and this one got a post through before we nabbed it.  Napseeker - have you banned this user (Waleed)?

brianakarobin

  • A++ Trader
  • Global Moderator
  • Sith Lord
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3507
  • Star Wars Trivia World Champion
    • View Profile
Re: Z-6PO and D2 R2
« Reply #8 on: November 01, 2014, 04:29:05 PM »

Never mind - I just banned him, and I deleted the random post, as well.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Recent

Links

   













Members
  • Total Members: 2022
  • Latest: MaxRebo
Stats
  • Total Posts: 169094
  • Total Topics: 14342
  • Online Today: 70
  • Online Ever: 406
  • (March 18, 2008, 03:52:35 PM)
Users Online
Users: 2
Guests: 59
Total: 61

Page created in 1.68 seconds with 39 queries.